Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Thirst quencher


I've been trying hard for the past few months to keep up with my health.  I've been starting with little things (like quitting soda from my diet, eating more veggies, and actually looking at food labels-something I NEVER EVER used to do before) 

One of the things I realized is that I barely drink water, I would go a few days without drinking even one glass because I never felt "thirsty". An average person should drink 8-10 fl oz. A DAY! The tiny 8 fl oz. (in the pic below) I would drink probably less than half of that a day :/

Water is essential for our good health and a prolonged absence of it can have profound effects over time. Some of them include weakening of the heart and shutting down of the kidneys.  Its a major component of blood and due to water loss from urination, perspiration, and stool, the body needs to be replenished daily to function at its best!

 I never noticed that all the minor issues I experienced (headaches, muscle weakness, nausea, dizziness) could be due to dehydration. So it became my goal to drink as much water as I can daily, I owe my body at least that! I'm happy to say that just yesterday I didn't realize how fast I had finished that little bottle, and was still thirsty (as opposed to before-when I would drink just a few sips and be fine) 
So this is another tiny goal I set for myself, and you can do it too!



Monday, February 27, 2012


QOTW!
(Question Of The Week)


Stressful situations are a part of everyday life.  We each have different coping mechanisms that help us get through those feelings.  There is a sequence of  things that I do to get over something, depending on how extreme they are. 


 Of course I begin with shedding a few tears, if it's that hurtful/stressful. I'm not afraid to admit that there's times when I curl up into a ball and cry my eyes out, throw things around, etc...(oh ya, I have that temper although it might not seem like it)
Another thing that helps me is FOOD.  It is my best friend, one that will never let me down when I need it most ! Sometimes the cravings are for something spicy and sometimes sweet !
Lastly, Shopping! who can forget about that? As funny as it might sound, it actually does help me a lot. Whenever i'm feeling down  and have that $, my hands itch to spend! It distracts my mind, for that day at least until I cool down =)


So my question to you is, 
What is your coping mechanism during stressful situations you come across in life?


 I'm curious to know your responses! so plz don't be afraid to answer, even if you choose to do so anonymously!  

Feelin lucky :D


So a few wks ago, while I was jus doing my daily fb-ing I came across a few contests. I entered the contests, but never thought I would actually win,with my luck.

I was wrong! I actually got lucky this time and more than once! I won 2 contests, one from a jewelry company based in India "Chudiyan Bangles 'n More", and one from my lovely friend cici :)
Just wanna say thank you again and show you guys the prizes I received :D




                                           

Saturday, February 25, 2012


So I had this $2 bill collection for quite a few yrs now. I thought I had lost them or probably spent it. But last night I found them in my old dresser :D
To spend or not to spend? What would U do ? :)


Friday, February 24, 2012

:(

As excited as I was getting back to my craftiness, I think I might need to give it a rest for a few weeks!
I started getting achy in my right wrist for about 2 weeks now, and didn't pay much attention. Only until the past 2 days, when the pain became unbearable.  It was SO painful to even shower this morning and get dressed.
It's weird, sometimes the pain is so extreme that I wanna scream and other times its only painful when trying I put pressure on it.
Hopefully I will pay a visit to the doc if it gets more worse.. and yes, I'm the type of person that won't go doc unless its absolutely necessary, or if I wait out a problem and it doesn't get better :P
Here's more bracelets for ya :





Thursday, February 23, 2012

Reaching small goals

We all have some bad habits that are hard to get rid of, soda is mine!  We've known for a while now that sugary drinks are extremely bad for you because of all the high fructose corn syrup and all the other crap that it has in it. I could never get myself to stop drinking it until a few weeks ago, finally!  

It started with my A&P2 class. We were discussing how diseases are growing rapidly and how the newer generations are growing sicker, and their bodies are basically getting destroyed quicker.  It all starts from our diet. I wont get into details because I can go on forever talking about how bad fast food is and how our society is driven by it. That's a blog for another day =) 

Anywho, my professor and classmates were talking about how much acidity soda has. Some students mentioned how in third world countries, people would use soda to clean out their cars, and pipes, etc. Some even said they tried pouring soda down the kitchen sink and saw how fast it got rid of the gooey gunk(that gets stuck). So of course I had to try it to believe it. and I did! I was disgusted and concerned at the same time. If soda can "clean" car and pipe junk, then I cant even imagine what it would be doing inside my own body! 

Just a thought: we would never drink/prefer hot soda because we can actually taste how damn sweet and nasty it is. Also, mostly all things that are not that good for you go on sale more often! why??!! Oh, you smart smart advertising agencies and media ! (especially targeting the youth and making it harder to keep them away, than in previous years!)

Well, i'm happy to say that this is one bad eating(drinking) habit i'm trying hard to get rid of! (promise, I only had a few sips just this Tuesday-after a whole 2 weeks since I started this). So i'm definitely proud of myself, because *whew* you might/might not know how hooked I was! 

On that note, just saying that we should be more aware of what we are consuming.  There's enough other things around us that are doing us harm. Start with something small, and work your way up. It makes a big difference!


Monday, February 20, 2012


QOTW!
(Question Of The Week)


For several weeks now, I've been thinking about the concept of forgiveness.  Im definitely not the type of person who holds grudges, intentionally at least. But when you forgive someone, I feel like its not necessary to keep them around.  My mom has been tellling me otherwise. Ive been arguing with her recently to prove my point .  

Allow me to explain:  Lets jus say I have known friend A for just a little over a year. Have treated him/her like a sibling and was always there for everything they needed.  They came to me only when they needed to get things done, but i was ok with that. Until one day,they just crossed the line. Starting to say things about me and taking advantage of how nice my parents are with "them".One thing that I cannot stand, is when someone is "FAKE", we all have come across close friends even who turn out to be something they never were.   And friend  A got into arguments with my parents because of things other people said about them. Then the ugliness came out. Friend A started being rude, saying hurtful things about me, about my life, the way I am, when they know not even 1/4 of my personality. blah..anywho, long story short, they realized what they had said and done and wanted to apologize to me about it.  I accepted the apology, with some hesitation in the beginning due to the anger I had inside. (anger for just that moment, doesnt mean I would or did lose sleep over what they had said).  

I fully forgave that person, but am I wrong to not want to bump into them again? to have an, even short convo with them?  IDK. I dont feel that its necessary to keep them around because it will just cause me to feel negativity  towards them unintentionally. 

The thing im fussing over, is the fact that my mom is the type of person who will forgive and forget and will be the same with that person, even after continuously being disappointed by them. She is pushing that on me and telling me that its ok to meet that person and be "normal" with them just because they asked for forgiveness.  I honestly feel at peace once I forgive them and dont feel like its necessary to keep them around. It reminds me of a quote I once read, "Always forgive, but never forget their names". ONLY to the extent where ur only protecting urself from getting hurt again. Not  to the point where u have a payback list of names lol . What do you guys think?

Do you feel like its necessary to forgive and really forget? Or forgive and turn the other way, and live ur life?

Tuesday, February 14, 2012


Valentines Day inspired nails 

So even though I don't like pink so much, I fell in love with this shade. 
So I decided to do it for Valentines day <3 
Just with a little extra 'text'
Fell in love with this idea, since I love writing and its been my New Years resolution for this year! 

Happy Valentines Day !







Monday, February 13, 2012


QOTW!
(Question Of The Week)



How would you define/describe 
Love?

Friday, February 10, 2012

UMMM

So, Um I'm fixing my next YouTube vid and UM its not quite working out! Um I realized I say UMM way too much and it annoys me! and UM while I was editing, somehow it was public and already got 3 views the second I put it up! Yikes! well its not too bad :/ 

Any YouTube,video editing savvy people wanna help :D 

Please.....

Pretty please :/ 

Id greatly appreciate it! :)

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Something to keep me busy!

Along with many of my other passions (photography, henna, sewing, painting, drawing, scrap-booking) , jewelry making is one of them! I keep jumping back and fourth from all of these and always love to stay busy. For as long as I can remember, I've been a crafty person. Sadly, I've been slacking due to my busy schedule and trying to focus a little more on my BSN. 

Although my career goals are heading towards the Medical field, I cant imagine myself doing JUST that.  My long term goals are to be an awesome photographer and henna artist  and to do it professionally for parties, weddings, etc. and also to open up a shop and teach people! It wouldn't be bad to make money along the way (: 

One of my resolutions for this year is to get back to crafting, and I've been doing a pretty good job so far! 
I can honestly admit, that after last night while making some of the bracelets below, I had such a GOOD sleep.  It really made me feel relaxed and more passionate about my work. 






P.S. Don't forget to check it out on fb: 

Monday, February 6, 2012


QOTW!
(Question Of The Week)


Let's face it. No matter how much you want to keep the young ones young, u can't keep them protected from the "rest of the world" for too long. It just hit me today what my mother says, " you'll know how it feels once u have ur own kids". Although I kinda grasped the concept without getting married or  having any kids yet. Lol.

I've been observing life closely for quite a while now and it has definitely opened my eyes, and changed me from within. For the most part, this change feels good. No disappointments, as of yet and I'm planning on keeping it that way!  

Back to my initial thought: it scares me how fast the young ones around me,mostly family/friends are growing. From babysitting them as kids,to playing with them,celebrating birthdays after birthdays (and many more to come IA), fighting,lecturing, being there for them, time seems to be slipping through like an hourglass.   You see the other half of the sand, going down slowly and u start panicking but there's ntn you can do to stop it. (Just turn the hourglass around again, lol don't we wish!) I just feel extremely concerned about where these kids are heading. They can't stay in the nest any longer, they must face "life". Because that's what life is about, isn't it?  (Makes me think about how crazy I would get once I have some kids of my own, lol). 

On that note, 
When is it too late to try and protect them? or is it ever?